Swimming Stages

Southwark Splash Junior Swim School Stages

Our junior swimming lesson programme follows the Swim England Learn To Swim Framework. It is made up of the seven stages of learning to swim, which develop confident and able swimmers using fun and enjoyment to engage learners.

Track your progress online and collect stage badges and certificates along the way.

Stage 1

Southwark Splash swimmers will be introduced to a structured class setting. Swimmers may use flotation equipment, such as armbands and floats, throughout this stage.

  • Build water confidence while introducing water safety skills

  • Learn the basic skills needed to build swimming ability

  • Learners will develop basic safety awareness

  • Develop basic movement skills

Stage 2

  • Swimmers develop streamlining to their strokes and travel without their feet on the floor, using a recognised leg kick
  • Swimmers are introduced to aquatic breathing and taught to make safe entries into the water, including jumping
  • Develop basic floating
  • Learn how to rotate to regain an upright position without support
  • Travel without the use of flotation equipment, though buoyancy aids may be used

Stage 3

During Stage 3, swimmers will develop their kicks, on both their front and their back.

  • They streamline through push and glides, whilst also swimming underwater
  • Swimmers will develop safe entries into the water, including submersion, and travel up to 10 metres on their front and back
  • Water safety knowledge and rotation skills will also be progressed

Stage 4

Swimmers will learn to perfect their leg kicks for all four strokes

  • Further develop push and glides
  • Introduction to sculling
  • Develop an understanding of buoyancy through a range of skills
  • Swim 10 metres to the Swim England Expected Standards.

Stage 5

Swimmers will develop their skills in treading water and learn the correct arm pulls for all four strokes.

  • Learn how to do handstands and somersaults
  • Develop their technique and perform all strokes to the Swim England Expected Standards
  • Emphasis on ensuring all work done in the previous stages is developed further

Stage 6

This stage teaches swimmers how to prepare for exercise, while developing an efficient technique for all four strokes

  • Further developing surface dives
  • Effective swimming skills taught include coordination, breathing and an understanding of water safety
  • Swimmers will work on all the strokes, including streamlining, improving their technique with both their arms and their legs

Stage 7

Stage 7 focuses on fully developing all four swimming strokes

  • Build stamina
  • Improving diving skills
  • Develop a quality stroke technique for up to 100 metres, incorporating the skills they have learnt throughout the stages and combining them to develop a linked routine
  • Successfully complete an obstacle course, which combines a variety of skills they have learnt from Stages 1 to 7.

View your local pool timetables below

Camberwell Leisure Centre
The Castle Centre
Dulwich Leisure Centre
Peckham Pulse Leisure Centre
Seven Islands Leisure Centre
Privacy Settings
We use cookies to enhance your experience while using our website. If you are using our Services via a browser you can restrict, block or remove cookies through your web browser settings. We also use content and scripts from third parties that may use tracking technologies. You can selectively provide your consent below to allow such third party embeds. For complete information about the cookies we use, data we collect and how we process them, please check our Privacy Policy
Consent to display content from - Youtube
Consent to display content from - Vimeo
Google Maps
Consent to display content from - Google
Skip to content